Your Library Card
Getting a card, renewing materials, placing holds, etc.
Who can get a card
The Bad Axe Area District Library serves all residents of the Bad Axe School District. Patrons who do not reside or own real property in this area are subject to a nonresident fee. The nonresident fee is $40 per family per year or $20 for six months. The $40 fee is commensurate with the average amount a taxpayer in the district pays to support the library.
How to Get Your Card
Applicants must present proof of identity and current residence in the form of a current, valid Michigan driver’s license or a Michigan ID.
Applicants must fill out a registration form which includes full name, current address and reference.
The person in whose name the card is issued shall be responsible and liable for any and all fines, losses or fees assessed against said card.
Patrons must present their library card to check out library materials.
Patrons may be required to supply proof of identity to establish that they are the holder of the library card that they present.
Patrons with unpaid extended use fees may not use the card of another patron.
Children must be five years old to obtain a library card. Children under the age of 16 and legally dependent adults require a parent’s or guardian’s signature. Cosigners accept responsibility for the return of all library materials and liability for any and all fines, losses or assessments against the library card.
New patrons are limited to 3 items for the first two months after they receive a library card. After the first two months, patrons are not limited in the number of items they can check out. However, library staff may place limits on patrons who abuse their borrowing privileges by damaging or losing items or failing to return them in a timely fashion.
The Library will reserve any book or audio book for a patron and will notify the patron when the book is available. The library cannot reserve three day materials because the delay this would cause would defeat the stated purpose of short term circulation for new materials.
Renewing Your Borrowed Items
Items with a two-week borrowing period may be renewed up to two times. This can be done by coming to the front desk, phoning the library or renewing on-line through the library's catalog. Instructions for accessing your account on-line are available elsewhere on this website.
Library Fines and Fees
Books/Audio Books: 25 cents per day (no maximum fine)
Catalogs/Magazines: 25 cents per day to a maximum of $10.00 for any group
Video and Electronic formats: $1.00 per day; up to the value of the material
Music CDs/Instruction Books for electronic formats: 25 cents per day
Copies: 10 cents per copy; 25 cents per microfilm and computer-generated copy;
75 cents per color copy
Library Card: $1.00
Library materials: current list price
Instruction books for electronic format: $5.00
Deposit for reinstating revoked card: $50
Nonresident fee: $40 per family per year; $20 per family per 6 months
Check out fee for video and electronic media: $2.00 for 3 days for new DVDs;
$1.00 for three days for computer games, video games, DVDs and VHS
Charge for reinstating lost item: $3.00
Fax transmission: $1.00 per page
Laminating: $1.00 per page